PMEA Region ll Chorus

The PMEA festivals been a very important part of the MASH music department for years. This year MASH held the Regional Chorus event. A lot of dedication and preparation went into this event and it wasn’t something that happened in a short period of time. Weeks prior to the event Ms. Moyer, a staff member at MASH, worked on putting together the most memorable competition. This year there was a guest director from Allegheny College, Dr. James Niblock. 

This is not just something you can get into without having a dedication to music. For weeks each individual from the 46 schools made sure to put their forth effort each and every day. The event took place from Wednesday, February 22nd through Friday, February 24th. On Wednesday, they held the auditions on where you would chair within your section and if you would advance to states. Thursday was a practice day with all the participants from early in the morning until late afternoon making sure everything was perfect. Friday was their performance day. 

After all the hard work and dedication, the choir sounded excellent at the concert they held. Each of the songs had amazing blends within the sections. The students who attend from our school was:

Soprano 1: Karrisa Peturso (12), Abby Powell (12)

Alto ll: Lillian Groover (11), Ella White (12)

Tenor ll: Cooper Breckenridge (11)

Bas ll: Silas Lashbrook (11)

All of the students were excellent in the event. Cooper Breckenridge will be moving onto the state competition coming up soon. Wish him luck!

The schools that attended included:

  • Keystone HS
  • Iroquois HS
  • Indiana HS
  • Homer-Center HS
  • General Mclane HS
  • Freeport HS
  • Franklin HS
  • Fort LeBoeuf HS
  • Fairview HS
  • Eisenhower HS
  • Dubois HS
  • Cranberry HS
  • Corry HS
  • Conneaut Area HS
  • Collegiate Academy 
  • Cochranton HS
  • Cathedral Prep
  • Cambridge Springs HS
  • Brookville HS
  • Brockway HS
  • Bradford HS
  • Armstrong HS
  • Apollo-Ridge HS
  • West Shamokin HS
  • Warren HS
  • United HS
  • Union HS
  • Titusville HS
  • St. Mary’s HS
  • Smethport HS
  • Saegertown HS
  • Rocky Grove HS
  • Ridgeway HS
  • Redbank Valley HS
  • Purchase Line HS
  • Punxsutawney HS
  • Port Allegany HS
  • Otto-Eldred HS
  • Oswego HS
  • Oil City HS
  • Northern Porter HS
  • North East HS
  • Meadville HS
  • Marion Center HS
  • Mcdowell HS
  • Maplewood HS